Cal will have a Total of 5 Lightsaber Stances in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

Cal will have a Total of 5 Lightsaber Stances in Star Wars Jedi: Survivor

By the end of Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, Cal Kestis will be able to switch between three lightsaber stances, from the single blade, to dual blade, then dual sabers. With the upcoming sequel Survivor, it’s said that Cal will have two more stances to choose from during a fight.

Talking to Game Informer, director Stig Asmussen confirms :

“We have five fully realized stances in the game. A lot of it depends on the enemy that you’re coming across. It’s advantageous to use certain types of stances against certain types of enemies, and it’s up to the player to figure that out. It requires the player to break down the enemies and figure out what the best weapon of choice is.”

Besides the existing stances from the first game, Cal also has a stance that combines his lightsaber with his blaster (a not-so-conventional Jedi weapon). Cal also has a new stance for the crossguard saber which has a longer blade and more ‘weighty’ form. “It’s a more confident approach. It’s weighty; it’s beefy. But you have to be very measured on how you use it because the timing windows are longer with the blade,” says Asmussen.

If anything, it kind of sounds like the game is following a leaf out of Ghost of Tsushima which also has specific stances for certain enemies. Here I am just hoping we could pilot the Mantis this time, or switch NPC sidekicks (like the first game’s Merrin).

Hopefully we get a new look at the game around the New Year. Star Wars Jedi: Survivor launches for Xbox Series X|S, PC, and PlayStation 5 on March 17, 2023.


Written by:

2,507 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :