The 16th annual Game Developer Choice Awards were held tonight and The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt (awarded Game of the Year), Sam Barlow’s Her Story, and Ori and the Blind Forest led the charge with the most wins.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

  • Pioneer Award: Markus “Notch” Persson, Mojang
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Todd Howard, Bethesda Studios
  • Ambassador Award: Tracy Fullerton, USC
  • Best Audio: Crypt of the Necrodancer
  • Best Narrative: Her Story
  • Best Visual Art: Ori and the Blind Forest
  • Best Technology: The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
  • Best Game Design: Rocket League
  • Best Debut: Moon Studios (Ori and the Blind Forest)
  • Best Handheld/Mobile Game: Her Story
  • Innovation Award: Her Story
  • Audience Award: Life is Strange
  • Game of the Year: The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt

Prior to the Game Developer Choice Awards, the awards for Independent Game Festival (IGF) were presented by Nathan Vella, president of Capybara Games.

Here’s the full list of winners:

  • Excellence in Audio: Mini Metro
  • Excellence in Narrative: Her Story
  • Excellence in Visual Art: Oxenfree
  • Excellence in Design: Keep Talking and Nobody Explodes
  • Best Student Game: Beglitched
  • Nuovo Award: Cibele
  • Audience Award: Undertale
  • Seumas McNally Grand Prize: Her Story


[Top Image: Sam Barlow]